34 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: The Gathering Storm

    • Thanks so much Chris πŸ™‚ Not many rapeseed fields in my local area but I knew I would find plenty in Oxfordshire and Gloucestershire when I went to the Cotswolds. Scoped out a couple of places on my way up there but waited for the weather to change on the Monday to get those amazing colour contrasts πŸ˜€ Stormy skies can make such wonderful landscape features!

    • Thanks Jude πŸ™‚ I knew that the weather was set to change on the Monday that I’d be leaving the Cotswolds so I found the locations on my way up in the sunshine and hoped for the clouds on Monday! The good old British weather didn’t let me down πŸ˜‰

      • Oh yes! I have only been lucky once with a rainbow AND a safe parking spot πŸ˜‰ Would have been amazing to get rainbows over the fields but all this weather has been travelling in the wrong direction! The thing that comes closest to killing me, and I genuinely have to talk myself into focusing on the driving, is the M40 corridor up from the M25 past Oxford which is Red Kite territory! They hang right above the road but there’s no where to stop 😦 At least if Simon’s driving I can safely gaze up at them in awe πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Mark πŸ™‚ I purposefully waited for the weather change as I’d seen a few images of rapeseed fields in storms before that were really dramatic! We don’t have much growing locally but I knew I’d find what I wanted on my trip to the Cotswolds. Not actually a big fan of rapeseed no matter how pretty it is as it’s one of the worst triggers for my hayfever!! I made sure I took my pills and put in eyedrops before getting close to my subjects πŸ˜‰ I kept hoping that maybe a little thunderstorm would actually get going! It looked like it was brewing. Next it’s going to be seeking out lavender fields πŸ˜€

      • Well the fact you waited to capture the moment makes it all the more impressive. We have quite a lot of rapeseed up here on the Wirral this year, more than usual it seems to me…..and my usually mild hay fever is worse this year too, probably no coincidence. We don’t get fields of Lavender up here though….so I’ll look forward to seeing those photos 😊

      • I think I will be heading to Kent for the lavender πŸ™‚ So often we don’t get much of a chance to put much planning into landscape work unless it’s with somewhere very close by and well known to us, but I have really taken on board the importance of trying to plan for the best compositions of location, time of day and weather conditions. Can’t get all of the ideals to line up all of the time but I do think my landscape work is getting better! I think the warmth we’ve had has led to some bumper rapeseed crops this year. Also, many farmers have been getting more profit from the crop so are putting more land towards it. I’m not particularly thrilled about that as it’s not great for the soil! It’s a great sight but I’d love to see more fallow fields. No coincidence on the hayfever at all!! You might want to see if any local hunny producers work in partnership with the rapeseed growers. It’s a natural way to build up your tolerance!

      • Your landscape work is very good Sarah. Most of my subjects tend to coincide with days out or holidays, so I sort of have to accept whatever conditions I get on the day we happen to pitch up. This can be frustrating, but if you see it as a challenge to make the best of what you’ve got on the day it can force you to get creative and can be very rewarding. Of course you can get lucky on the day too and have some great conditions to work with. I probably only get out two or three times a year on what I would call planned photo shoots i.e. just me and the camera where the sole purpose is photography…..I need to build in more time for that but work and life has a habit of getting in the way 😏. Thanks for the honey tip….I’ll investigate.

      • Life ALWAYS gets in the way! Most of the time my work is also centred around days out and trips with my hubby. I sometimes find it hard to plan excursions by myself as my stupid health gets in the way! I was really proud of myself for managing to drive to the Cotswolds on my own πŸ™‚ It’s at the very limits of my driving distance, fatigue and cramp wise. I am really hoping that I can be brave enough to do a few more days out within that sort of distance from home πŸ™‚

      • That must be difficult Sarah, but I guess now you’ve got one solo trip under your belt that you’ll feel a bit more confident next time 😊

    • Thanks so much Amy πŸ™‚ This was in the Cotswolds which is great agricultural land of rolling hills. It’s quite a sight I must say! I’m hoping to photograph the lavender fields this year too πŸ™‚ I think they’d look amazing at sunrise and sunset. Stormy cloud colours worked so well with the yellows of the rapeseed!

    • Thanks Draco πŸ™‚ I was back in the car before the rain came! Sadly the weather was moving in the wrong direction for rainbows. It was the start of a week that brought us every season on every single day! Tragic for some of our growers. The vineyards here were badly hit by frost despite having braziers set up throughout the fields! I rather wish I’d got some images of those vineyards lit up.

    • Thanks Steve πŸ™‚ You are one of the masters at capturing wildflowers and while these are cultivated, there’s a similarity in techniques and composition, so your comment is much appreciated πŸ˜€ Absolutely true that it’s what we hope for! Knowing the weather change was coming in had me very excited about setting up the shot πŸ˜€ Next I need to find poppy fields and then lavender!

    • Thanks Julie πŸ™‚ Yes it is rapeseed! The oil has become quite fashionable to use here now so more farmers are turning land over to cultivating it. It’s really quite spectacular to look at when you’re driving through the countryside as long as you don’t get too distracted by it πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

