12 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: Wispy Wildflowers

      • “Trying to convey how the sight of them makes me feel” – yes, absolutely >>> an image need not necessarily reflect straight reality, but more an Impressionist viewpoint – how it made the photographer feel. Absolutely right! A πŸ™‚

      • I think it’s the defining thing about the way I work. Probably comes from my years painting! Creating art has also been about expressing emotion for me. There’s a lot a photographer can do in how we compose, expose and process an image to convey all those emotions. Even when I’m doing event and music photography I’m still trying to capture something of the energy and atmosphere of the event. You always manage to express the emotions of the scenes you photograph! I love seeing images that allow me to get a real sense of how it feels to be in that place πŸ™‚

      • Do you mean that, that I always convey emotions in my photos, is that what you mean?! I have to say that I rarely view my photography in those terms, at least at point of capture – I just see something I like and blast away!!! Your final sentence is exactly right – its usually good to be able to make/help people see/feel what it was like being there. A πŸ™‚

      • Yes you do!! It’s probably natural instinct at point of capture. You’re wanting to transport the viewer to that moment too. It certainly comes across in how you process images πŸ™‚ I can feel the atmosphere of the scene. Even in your street photography you home in on a particular expression that on someone’s face that probably says a lot about what you’re feeling in that place at that time. Other portraits, particularly your archive pieces, you always capture something in the eyes!! It’s the landscape pieces that really seem to have a profound emotional context to them though. That’s where your heart lies I think!

      • Sarah, well I’m really grateful to you for these thoughts. Its really illuminating – and encouraging too! – to hear your views about my photography! And, as always, you’re one of the few people who take the time to write long comments, which I always enjoy. Thank you again. Adrian πŸ™‚

      • I know it sometimes takes me a while to get back to people but that’s mostly cos I want time to respond properly!! You can thank the current wet weather for keeping me stuck inside πŸ˜‰ I love hearing thoughts about my work that show things in a different light! It’s interesting discovering the things that we often do completely subconsciously when taking photographs.

Leave a Reply

