Image

Blue Monday: Grebe On A Glassy Lake

Great Crested Grebe

Blue Monday: Grebe On A Glassy Lake

I took this photo of one of the grebes at Thorpe Lake before my swim there last week. The reflections of the sky were so beautiful. Open water swimming is just the best physical and mental exercise there is! I get to watch these glorious birds, along with all the other residents of the lakeside, while I swim through those smooth waters every week. The simple pleasures in life are the best. I shall share this pleasure with everyone as part of Wex Mondays this week. Good luck to everyone entering!

19 comments on “Blue Monday: Grebe On A Glassy Lake

  1. I spotted a crested grebe on the lake at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park last week. Didn’t get a good shot of it though. This is glorious.

    • Thanks Jude πŸ™‚ Aren’t they just stunning? This is at the lake where I swim but it’s not the only place around here where they live. I have found it often frustrating trying to photograph them as they like to spend time in the middle of the lake! There’s a good population of them in Hyde Park πŸ™‚

  2. The simple pleasures in life are the best, Sarah! Dame Rose Macaulay wrote a book on the subject, The Minor Pleasures of Life, many years ago!

    • Thanks Adrian πŸ™‚ The reflections made the image! The clouds were really pretty in the sky too πŸ˜‰ Yes, you must get a few grebes in your area! I so want to see the chicks but I think the nesting grebes have stuck to a rather inaccessible part of the lakes. I love watching them. We play the “guess where it’s going to surface” game a lot πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

