Image

Caracara With Plenty Of Character!

Sparky The Caracara

Caracara With Plenty Of Character!

Meet Sparky, a wonderful caracara who has more character than one image alone can express! We watched in awe as Sparky performed to the crowds at RHS Wisley Gardens, with Martin Ballam and Peter Warne from Xtreme Falconry, on Saturday afternoon. The caracara is an unusual bird of prey from the Falkland Islands. You can look up more about the caracara here, but I shall hint at why they are so unusual by telling you that there aren’t any trees for them to roost in or hunt from! I love Sparky so much that I’m sharing this as my Fotospeed challenge entry this week and adding a little video I made of the show on Saturday. I hope you all enjoy it as much as we did ๐Ÿ˜€

6 comments on “Caracara With Plenty Of Character!

    • Thanks so much Steve ๐Ÿ™‚ I always feel like I’m almost painting these portraits in oils! It’s what I once did and the artists eye keeps on seeing and creating in the same way, whatever the medium. Just LOVE this bird! Had fun getting the angle with the head twisting back as he was grooming the moulting feathers ๐Ÿ™‚ Ah, to be compared to Rembrandt!! I have stood in front of The Night Watch with my jaw on the floor. It’s imposing and exquisite, dark and light! Yes, I think the style befits the Caracara ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

