Image

Blue Monday: Big Blue Cock

Blue Monday: Big Blue Cock

Blue Monday: Big Blue Cock

Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

As requested by my brother, this is Hahn/Cock by Katharina Fritsch, the current artwork standing upon the famous Fourth Plinth of Trafalgar Square in London.

There has been much humorous speculation about the intentions of the German artist in producing a sculpture that many associate with the Gallic Rooster, one of the most famous symbols of France.

The artist says that the sculpture is simply a rendition of a domestic farmyard cockerel! How ironic though to have this Gaulois giant looming over the most famous monument to a British victory over the French. Whatever the case, it makes me smile 🙂

16 comments on “Blue Monday: Big Blue Cock

  1. Hello Sarah,

    That’s new since I was in London. I sure wish that I could see it in “person.” Thanks for sharing.

    Have a Happy Blue Monday and an excellent Easter celebration!

  2. This ‘thing’ has been all over the blogs I read like a rash lately. I’d never heard of it before, and I’m not sure I like it, though I do like the irony! Maybe I’ll get to see it myself at the end of the month.
    xx

    • That’s interesting Jude! I know there was a lot of press when it went up last summer but I thought that would have died down by now. Robin requested the photos when I had lunch with him in town last week 🙂 It does have a fair bit of comedy value! What would you most like to see on the fourth plinth? xxx

  3. A great blue share! I missed lining this week with Sally at Blue Monday but shared my blues anyway. A lovely photo too. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I tried to get a good photo of this but was on one of the hop on hop off buses at the time and trees kept getting in my way.. Great shots 🙂

    • Hi Livonne, thanks! The plinths are all a bit awkward really. You need the time to be able to get all around them to find the right angle and light! The best spot to photograph anything on the Fourth Plinth is on the pavement of the road that leads up the west side of the square 🙂

  5. Your comment about the Gallic rooster reminds of when the English climber Ben Moon went to France and climbed a route that French climbers could not climb, and he named the route ‘Agincourt’…

Leave a comment