Image

Focus

Focus

Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus
Festival of Flowers: Week 11

This week the photo challenge is all about how aperture and depth of field affect the areas of focus within an image.

Depth of field can also be altered by how close you are to your subject. Today I stuck to photographing one flower, a chrysanthemum, using my 30mm macro lens at f2.8 and manually changing the focal point to show you the different effects.

DSC08946

Being very close to my subject, as well as having a wide aperture, gives me a very shallow depth of field. Changing my focal point from the centre of the flower to the edge of the petal makes a dramatic change to how the subject is viewed.

Which do you prefer?

23 comments on “Focus

  1. Pingback: Focus in the study | A mom's blog

  2. Amazing capture! Thanks so much for sharing and participating in the Festival of Flowers Weekly Challenge. I hope you have a great weekend. πŸ˜€

  3. I prefer the centre in focus, but then I’d crop it tighter. I do like the petals in focus but not the centre so blurred – so really I’m not a lot of help am I? I do love dahlias though and I love the colour of this one πŸ™‚

    Interesting to show the effects of focusing, and I am envious of that lens!!
    Jude xx

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge/ On the Road: Focus / Lines and Directions | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Carefree | Joe's Musings

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus (1) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog

  8. Pingback: Focus on Koko | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: World Press Photo Challenge: Focus (3) | Bastet and Sekhmet

Leave a Reply

