48 comments on “Blue Monday: Blue Tit

    • Oh I love that Andy!! They do have the little masked hoodlum look 😉 I always laugh at photos of them just arriving at birdfeeders as it looks like they’re just dive bombing in! Fast too! They don’t stay in one spot for long usually. I do get to photograph them a lot, despite their ninja abilities, as they’re rather numerous!

      • That’s brilliant Sarah 🙂 It’s a wonderful thing to watch the birds up close, and so many people just seem to take them for granted. I always remember when I first got a telescope – I showed my Gran this wonderful bird that was in the garden, she stated that she never had such beautiful and exciting birds in her garden! The bird she was looking at was a house sparrow!!! 🙂

      • Haha! That story typifies the reality of the world we’re living in though it’s a pretty funny story 😉 Most people I meet absolutely haven’t got a clue about what any of British birds are except for the robins and blackbirds. And the ones that know blackbirds wouldn’t recognise a female blackbird! I’m not that much of an expert that I can tell every bird by its call or gis, especially at a distance, but I love our wildlife and I love being able to experience it 🙂 Way better than anything on telly!!

      • You have perfectly summed up how I feel about our wildlife, I love looking at it, trying to find out more about it, but I’m certainly no expert. It makes me sad that so few people take the time to admire our wonderful countryside and wildlife, but I guess I should be glad that’s the case, otherwise all the wonderful walks etc I do, would be choked up with thousands of people!

      • Ah, but if decades ago more people had become truly interested in wildlife and nature then there would be far fewer people around to adversely impact upon it. Oh, and Wisley on a busy day does become almost choked with thousands 😉

      • That’s very true Sarah.
        And wow!!! Wisley has certainly grown in popularity over the last 25-30 years. I reckon whenever I visited in the mid 80’s, they were lucky to have more than a hundred people in on a Saturday or Sunday 😦
        I’m glad to see that so many more people appreciate the place now 🙂

      • They actually have several overflow carparks now and the traffic jams have been known to cause delays onto the M25! They put on so many wonderful events throughout the year and lots of children’s activities during holidays. That’s usually when it gets really packed!! I think the building of the Glasshouse with it’s café and education centre really helped get more interest. It makes me happy to see more people outside and especially the children learning about horticulture and nature 😀 I do sometimes miss the really quiet days of old but there seems to be a resurgence in people getting outside to Gardens and NT parks which is wonderful for future generations!

      • Perfectly put Sarah 🙂
        And as you say, most importantly, they are generating an interest for children, and it’s great to see people enjoying the outdoors more 🙂

Leave a comment