24 comments on “Blue Monday: Blue Iris

    • Thanks Mick 🙂 It was taken by the lake at Wisley so I was able to get the uniform background with a shallow DOF. I love the way these blue irises stand proud above all the other plants, they just scream “photograph me”! It’s been years since I’ve seen an actual four leafed clover. I search every year!

  1. Sarah, I saw your review on Leanne Cole’s site and am very impressed by your images. Many of them get to me, but this one does especially – I think its the radiance and freshness of the blues, and those few yellows there too – and it is in any case a superb portrait. I’m going to follow your blog. Any luck with the kingfishers? Adrian

    • Oh thank you Adrian 🙂 Yes I love that blue iris, quite a recent image. The main aim I’ve always had with my artwork is to provoke or create an emotional response so I’m really glad that they speak to you 🙂 No luck yet with the kingfisher! I’m busy with wedding photos at the moment and then we’re off to Greece. I’m hoping to go to Devon to stay with my sister as they’ve got a kingfisher on a nearby reserve. We’ll go and set up early with some camouflage as you’ve suggested! I’ll be posting some wildlife photography from in my garden tomorrow 🙂

Leave a comment